June 30-July 3, 2016

Tournament History


Tournament Director Wade Vickery coached varsity boys and girls basketball at Santana High School. In 5 years he had a 74-48 record with the boys. In his 26 seasons with the girls, he compiled a record of 610-119, with 19 league championships and 9 CIF-San Diego Section titles. He had the honor of coaching the West to a 4 point victory over the East in the 2006 McDonalds All American game. He was inducted into the California Coaches Association Hall of Fame in June of 2015.


Coach Vickery started this tournament in 1987 with only 8 teams. In 2016 it will have 125 teams from 8 different states. Winslow is the only high school that has participated every year. A special thanks to legendary Winslow coach Don Petranovich, who retired in 2010, for bringing his team for the first 24 years, and to Jerron Jordan, who has continued the Winslow tradition.


This year, for the first time, the tournament has expanded to include girls youth club teams.

San Diego Classic